Trio Brax - Pressebilde.jpg

classical / contemporary

With the line-up of viola, tenor saxophone and piano, Trio Brax is a rare bird among Norwegian chamber music ensembles. If not also internationally. This despite the fact that Paul Hindemith wrote one of the first pieces for this ensemble type. Trio Brax has taken the challenge, and has commissioned several new works. For the moment the repertory includes the works “The Magpie & I" by Håvard Lund (2016) and "Abraximately" by Helge Iberg (2017). Several new works are in the making.

The ensemble consists of Julia Neher, Ola Asdahl Rokkones and Sergej Osadchuk, three musicians from Tromsø that have been recognized internationally. Julia Neher plays the viola in NOSO, but is also a frequent guest in leading orchestras worldwide. The saxophonist Ola Asdahl Rokkones is a musical chameleon, playing both classical music and jazz. Sergej Osadchuk is professor in piano at the University in Tromsø, and his career includes several appearances with orchestra as well as many acclaimed records.

Julia Neher - viola
Ola Asdahl Rokkones - tenor saxophone
Sergej Osadchuck - piano